Shock and Surprise: Taylor Swift Drops Deluxe Edition of ‘The Tortured Poets Department’ in the Dead of Night

Taylor Swift delights fans with bonus tracks from her latest album

Taylor Swift dropped her much-anticipated album, “The Tortured Poets Department,” at midnight ET on Friday. The standard edition of the album features 16 tracks which were announced back in February. However, just two hours later, Swift surprised fans with a deluxe edition that included a total of 31 songs.

Four of these extra tracks had been previously teased as vinyl exclusives, while the rest were a complete surprise. This isn’t the first time Swift has surprised fans with a sudden release. In 2022, she dropped an extended version of “Midnights” known as the “3am Edition” in the early hours of the morning. This time, the release of the deluxe edition came with little warning, shocking many Swifties online.

Swift’s economic power has been on full display in recent months, with her ongoing Eras Tour and concert movie helping her become the first musician to reach billionaire status purely through music and performances. This success has allowed her to flex her influence, as seen when Singapore paid nearly $3 million per show to secure exclusivity for the Southeast Asian leg of her tour.

Both versions of “The Tortured Poets Department” are available for streaming on all major platforms. So, fans can enjoy Swift’s latest musical offerings at their leisure.

Leave a Reply