Fortum elects new board members and makes strategic decisions for the future of the energy company

Fortum’s Board Composition Decided at General Meeting

Fortum, a leading energy company, held its general meeting and elected nine individuals to the board. Mikael Silvennoinen was appointed as chairman, while Essimari Kairisto was elected as the vice president. Additionally, Ralf Christian, Luisa Delgado, Jonas Gustavsson, Marita Niemelä, Prank Paavola, Johan Söderström, and Vesa-Pekka Takala were also selected as members of the board.

During the meeting, discharge from liability for the 2023 financial year was granted to all board members and the CEO. A dividend of EUR 1.15 per share was approved for shareholders. Furthermore, the board was granted authorization to decide on acquiring shares in Fortum’s own stock market. This decision allows for a maximum of 20 million shares to be acquired and transferred between shareholders.

The state had previously announced that it would relinquish its seat on Fortum’s board when Maia Strandberg stepped down from his position.

The general meeting marked a significant milestone in Fortum’s operations as new leadership takes over and strategic decisions are made regarding the company’s future direction.

Leave a Reply